Tags

, ,

Oration 38 by St. Gregory the Theologian is divided into 18 sections. If I write two posts about each section, that would put me at 36 posts. Given that I have already written for two of the 40 days of the fast, that leaves two posts for wiggle room. Unfortunately, there is quite a variety in the length of these 18 sections. Some are very short and some quite long.

Rather than trying to figure out how to squeeze two posts from the shorter sections and limit myself to two posts for some of the longer ones, I am going to do something a bit different than what I have done in the past. While I will post something every day, I will only be writing something of my own every other day. On the other days I will post each section in turn in its entirety. This will give all of us a chance to truly encounter St. Gregory and wrestle with him and his words without me interrupting in the middle of a longer section. Those posts that I write myself will be meditations upon the results of my own encounters with these words. In the end, I will still have two posts in my back pocket in case the Holy Spirit or St. Gregory demand more than one post on a particular section.

I pray that such an approach will prove fruitful for us all.

Without further ado, here is the first section of Oration 38:

Christ is born, give glory; Christ is from the heavens, go to meet him; Christ is on earth, be lifted up. “Sing to the Lord, all the earth,” and to say both together, “Let the heavens be glad and let the earth rejoice,” for the heavenly one is now earthly. Christ is in the flesh, exult with trembling and joy; trembling because of sin, joy because of hope. Christ comes from a Virgin; women, practice virginity, that you may become mothers of Christ. Who would not worship the one “From the beginning”? Who would not glorify “the Last”?